aws - ebs

 

 


Keep the attached EBS volumes when I terminate an instance

 

When an instance is terminated, Amazon EC2 uses the value of the DeleteOnTermination attribute for each attached EBS volume

  to determine whether to preserve or delete the volume when the instance is terminated.

By default, the DeleteOnTermination attribute for the root volume of an instance is set to true, but it is set to false for all other volume types.

Changing the root volume of a running instance to persist using the command line (only cli can do this)

 


Deleting an Amazon EBS volume

 

Before deletion, you can store a snapshot of the volume,

which you can use to re-create the volume later